West Malling CE Primary School

Google Translate

Google Translate

Home Page

West Malling CE Primary School

– and The McGinty Speech and Language Centre

"Let your light shine”, Matthew 5. 16

Content Slideshow




Our computing curriculum is provided by Teach Computing. The Teach Computing Curriculum was created by the Raspberry Pi Foundation on behalf of the National Centre for Computing Education (NCCE). This curriculum provides full coverage of the primary computing programme of study outlined by the National Curriculum. The curriculum delivers a coherent, complete computing curriculum which helps pupils to progress their knowledge, understanding and skills in computing. There is a ‘spiral’ approach to sequencing the units, with themes recurring year by year. All learning outcomes can be described through a high-level taxonomy of ten strands, ordered alphabetically below. The taxonomy provides categories and an organised view of content to encapsulate the discipline of computing.


The Ten Strands


Be able to comprehend, design, create, and evaluate algorithms

Computer networks

Understand how networks can be used to retrieve and share information, and how they come with associated risks

Computer systems

Understand what a computer is, and how its constituent parts function together as a whole

Creating media

Select and create a range of media including text, images, sounds, and video

Data and information

Understand how data is stored, organised, and used to represent real-world artefacts and scenarios

Design and development

Understand the activities involved in planning, creating, and evaluating computing artefacts

Effective use of tools

Use software tools to support computing work

Impact of technology

Understand how individuals, systems, and society as a whole interact with computer systems


Create software to allow computers to solve problems

Safety and security

Understand risks when using technology, and how to protect individuals and systems


This provides ample opportunity for pupils to:

  • consolidate technical skills

  • achieve fluency with a range of key applications

  • develop their knowledge and understanding of the principles that underpin digital technologies and the changing consequences of these for individuals and society.


Each year includes units covering the foundations, applications and implications of computing, ensuring that pupils progress in the computer science, information technology and digital literacy strands of the computing curriculum. It also encourages creativity, collaboration and thinking skills.


Underpinning the intent are key concepts and the National Curriculum Computing statements for Key stages 1 and 2. These are further refined with key substantive and disciplinary concepts:


Substantive concepts


Computer Science

The technical design. The design of new software, the solution to computing problems and the development of different ways to use technology.

Information technology

The technical knowledge. The design, use and understanding of hardware and software; computers and electronic systems for storing and using information.

Digital Literacy

The technical skills. The ability to use information and communication technologies to find, create, evaluate, and communicate information.


Disciplinary concepts



Using and writing codes to produce instructions and algorithms; to solve problems; to test and use logic and sequences against inputs and outputs.


Being able to safely, efficiently and confidently digitally connect with others


Being able to safely, efficiently and confidently use apps and information technology to communicate ideas


Being able to safely, efficiently and confidently find, evaluate, store, sort and use appropriate data.


Physical Computing

The Teach Computing Curriculum acknowledges that physical computing plays an important role in modern pedagogical approaches in computing, both as a tool to engage pupils and as a strategy to develop pupils’ understanding in more creative ways. Additionally, physical computing supports and engages a diverse range of pupils in tangible and challenging tasks.


Online Safety - ProjectEVOLVE

We use the ProjectEVOLVE resources to deliver a comprehensive online safety curriculum in school. Each of the 330 statements from UK Council for Internet Safety's (UKCIS) framework “Education for a Connected World” with perspectives; research; activities; outcomes; supporting resources and professional development materials. ProjectEVOLVE breaks down online safety into eight key strands; self-image and identity, online relationships, online reputation, online bullying, managing online information, health, well-being and lifestyle, privacy and security and copyright and ownership.

Online safety is also visited within our R(S)HE Jigsaw curriculum too.