West Malling CE Primary School

Google Translate

Google Translate

Home Page

West Malling CE Primary School

– and The McGinty Speech and Language Centre

"Let your light shine”, Matthew 5. 16

Content Slideshow

Meet the Governors


West Malling CE Primary and the McGinty Language Centre has ten current governors.


Mr Andy Rathbone, Chair, (Tenax Appointed Governor – September 2020)

Mrs Vanessa Dunnet, Vice-Chair, (Tenax Appointed Governor – September 2020)

David Green (Tenax Appointed Governor – September 2020)

Mrs Ann Lee (Tenax Appointed Governor – September 2020)

Mr Russell Trewartha (Tenax Appointed Governor – September 2020)

Mrs Nicola Cross (Parent Governor – July 2018)

Clare McConnel  (Staff Governor –Elected  April 2018)

Mrs Emily Reeves (Staff Governor – Elected January 2017)

Parent Governor - Vacancy


All Governors are appointed by Tenax Schools Trust, with the exception of the two parent governors who were elected by parents and the two staff governors who were elected by staff.


Our local governing body also includes the Headteachers, Mr Matthew Clark and Mr David Rye.


Our Clerk to the Governors is Mrs Philippa Gibbs.          


Our governing body meets once every other term, three times a year.


The roles and responsibilities of the Local Governing Body are:

  • Standards and Safeguarding
  • Ethos, Character and Local Traditions
  • Working with Parents and the Local Community


Further details of the LGB's roles and responsibilities are contained in the Terms or Reference document below.


Individual governors also take on specific responsibilities as “link governors” for areas of the curriculum and aspects of the school’s life. These are detailed in the school’s Local Governing Body Information document.


 The Chair of Governors, Mr Andy Rathbone, can be contacted in writing via the Clerk to the Governing Body, Mrs Philippa Gibbs, either by post using the school postal address, or by email:  


We are fortunate to have such a dedicated board of governors who are very active within the school; regularly coming into school and sharing in the learning and teaching taking place.



Record of Business Interests and Attendance